International Virtual Academic Collaboration

TEACHING FOR CRITICAL DIGITAL LITERACY

The project is located in the field of teacher education at the interface of democracy education and media education. It aims at an international understanding of the question of how critical digital literacy should be designed to be effective for learning. The critical reflection competence of future teachers is to be strengthened. In virtual cooperation on social issues, the cultural context and the national self-image of the respective "others" can be experienced.


NEWS (01.07.21): All good things come to an end

6 weeks of digital collaboration within the binational small groups came to an end on 1st July 2021. In the last few weeks, the students got to know each other and exchanged views - both in the context of their private interests and in the context of the subject content. They have met in virtual space according to their own planning, worked individually and together on their questions, and documented and reflected on their progress. In the end, all groups created presentations that open up a comparative view of the respective topic.

In the final synchronous (zoom) group session, the participants from Kaiserslautern and Dubai reported heated discussions, interesting eye-opening and horizon-expanding conversations, friendships made. What they all have in common is gratitude for the cultural learning experience. We are relieved and happy that all participants were able to take something away from this experience for themselves and their competences.

 

A small insight into the results: (anonymised)


NEWS (20.05.21): Binational collaboration has started

On Thursday, 20.05.21, the virtual binational collaboration between students from TUK and students from AUD (American University in Dubai) started with a joint kick-off event. The meeting provided a first glimpse into each other's culture. From study programmes, study contents, school subjects to the exchange about national dishes and pets, there was a lot of exchange. The kick-off meeting was already insightful for both sides and certainly aroused interest. We are looking forward to the virtual collaboration of the students in their small groups.


NEWS (26.04.21): Semester has started

Last Thursday, 22.04.21, was the kick-off meeting of our project seminar. We are happy that 13 motivated participants want to be part of the binational exchange.

Zum Seitenanfang

International Virtual Academic Collaboration

TEACHING FOR CRITICAL DIGITAL LITERACY

Das Projekt verordnet sich im Bereich der LehrerInnenbildung an der Schnittstelle von Demokratiebildung und Medienbildung. Es zielt auf eine internationale Verständigung über die Frage, wie eine lernwirksame kritische politische Medienbildung gestaltet sein muss. Die kritische Reflexionskompetenz von LehramtsnovizInnen soll gestärkt werden. In der virtuellen Zusammenarbeit zu gesellschaftlichen Fragen wird der kulturelle Kontext und das nationale Selbstverständnis der jeweils „Anderen“ erfahrbar.


NEWS (01.07.21): All good things come to an end

6 Wochen digitale Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der binationalen Kleingruppen sind am 01. Juli 2021 zu Ende gegangen. In den letzten Wochen haben sich die Studierenden kennengelernt und sich austauscht - sowohl im Kontext ihrer privaten Interessen als auch im Rahmen der fachlichen Inhalte. Sich haben sich nach eigener Planung im virtuellen Raum getroffen, in Einzelarbeit und gemeinsam in ihren Fragestellungen gearbeitet und ihre Fortschritte dokumentiert und reflektiert. Letztlich haben alle Gruppen Präsentationen erstellt, die einen vergleichenden Blick auf die jeweilige Thematik eröffnen.

In der letzten abschließenden synchronen (Zoom-) Gruppensitzung berichten die anwesenden Teilnehmer*innen aus Kaiserslautern und Dubai von hitzigen Diskussionen, von interessanten augenöffnenden und horizonterweiternden Gesprächen, von gewonnenen Freundschaften. Allen gemein ist Dankbarkeit für die kulturelle Lernerfahrung. Wir sind erleichtert und froh, dass alle Teilnehmenden etwas aus dieser Erfahrung für sich und ihren Kompetenzschatz mitnehmen konnten.

 

Einen kleinen Einblick in die Ergebnisse der Gruppenarbeit: (anonymisiert)


NEWS (20.05.21): erfolgreicher Start der binationalen Kooperation

Am Donnerstag, den 20.05.21 hat die virtuelle binationale Kollaboration zwischen Studierenden der TUK und Studierenden der AUD (American University in Dubai) mit einer gemeinsamen Auftaktveranstaltung gestartet. Das Meeting eröffnete einen ersten Blick in die Kultur der jeweils Anderen. Von Studiengängen, Studiumsinhalte, Schulfächern bis hin zu nationale Gerichte und Haustiere war einiges an Austausch dabei. Das Auftaktmeeting war für beide Seiten bereits erkenntnisreich und hat gewiss Interesse geweckt. Wir sind gespannt auf die virtuelle Kollaboration der Studierenden in ihren Kleingruppen.


NEWS (26.04.21): Das Semester hat gestartet

Am Donnerstag, den 22.04.21, war die Auftaktsitzung unseres Projektseminars. Wir freuen uns, dass 13 motivierte TeilnehmerInnen Teil des binationalen Austauschs sein wollen.

Zum Seitenanfang